TipsFix - Free Betting Tips and Predictions


TipsFix - Special Tips and Predictions

Does Ronnie O’Sullivan Deserve to Win BBC Sports Personality of the Year?

27 August 2020

Does Ronnie O’Sullivan Deserve to Win BBC Sports Personality of the Year?

Ronnie O’Sullivan is not just the finest snooker player to ever to play the sport, he does so in a way which has been unrivalled in the history of the game.

This was evident at the 2020 World Snooker Championship where he won his sixth world title. Once again, the Englishman was just too hot for his rivals in Sheffield.

O’Sullivan’s latest success comes at the age of 44. Unlike his predecessors Steve Davis and Stephen Hendry, who both dominated their respective eras in the sport, the Rocket continues to be at the top of the sport in his 40s.

O’Sullivan has never won the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award, but what’s more surprising to snooker fans is that he has yet to even be nominated.

After his latest victory at the Crucible, where he beat Kyren Wilson in the final 18-8 to lift the title again, he surely must now be on the shortlist for the prestigious award.

The Rocket Has Yet to Hit the Shortlist For SPOTY

Davis was the last snooker player to win SPOTY in 1988. Back in the 80s, snooker players were huge stars. With far fewer channels for sports fans to tune into, snooker had prime time viewing on the box which meant viewing figures rocketed.

Despite snooker not having that same popularity today, O’Sullivan goes beyond his sport. He is far more recognisable than some of the winners of this trophy over the last decade.

A lot can still happen from now until December since there are still a lot more major sporting events scheduled on the calendar this year, as you can see from the tips for the rest of 2020. The Rocket is currently 7/2 in the betting for the award. He has just two rivals ahead of him in the market: Tyson Fury and Lewis Hamilton.

O’Sullivan looks the best value of the three men at the top of the novelty market. If you sign up to a new sportsbook account before then, you may be able to pick up a free bet bonus to use on the event which also ensures it is risk-free. This could be equal to the first bet you place on the site so be mindful of that before your opening punt. Also do check if there are any wagering requirements with your free bet or potential returns.

Fury and Hamilton Sure to Be Strong Contenders

Fury currently tops the betting as he defeated Deontay Wilder back in February to claim the WBC world title. An excellent achievement by the British boxer, especially as he went into that fight as the underdog in Vegas.

Fury’s problem is that when the award ceremony comes along in December, voters may have forgotten about that contest. There is also the chance he could get back into the ring before then. If he loses his next fight, his chances will be all but gone.

Hamilton is on the brink of his seventh Drivers Championship this season in F1. This win would put him level with Michael Schumacher who currently holds the record for the most world titles.

But for some reason, Hamilton doesn’t quite get the love he deserves in the UK. The two-time SPOTY winner has been the odds-on favourite before for the award and not gone on to lift it. There is also a good chance the British driver won’t attend on the night, something which will put many off voting for him.

Some of the winners in the past of this award have landed it at the later stages of their careers. Ryan Giggs did so in 2009, while a year later Tony McCoy finally and deservedly won the award following his victory in the 2010 Grand National.

O’Sullivan is not just great for snooker, he is brilliant for sport. Without characters like the Rocket, it would be quite boring. Hopefully 2020 is the year the world champion is recognised with an award which was made for him.